Need a Ride? Give us a call! (616) 842-3200

About Harbor Transit

Harbor Transit Serving Our Community Since 1975

Harbor Transit started more than 45 years ago as a small Dial-A-Ride service with just two vans and a 10-square-mile service area. As community members started using our service, Harbor Transit gained popularity and was able to expand. In 2012, we shifted from the old DART service and established Harbor Transit Multi-Modal Transit System.

We’re Dedicated to Exceptional Service

Today, as Harbor Transit, we are able to serve a 55-square-mile area with a fleet of 29 accessible buses. We transport more than 250,000 riders a year in our expanded service area covering the City of Ferrysburg, City of Grand Haven, Grand Haven Township, Village of Spring Lake, and Spring Lake Township. We’re proud to say that one of the values that helped Harbor Transit grow is our dedication to exceptional service. That’s a value we’ve always strived to maintain, and it’s one of the reasons we continue to provide an on-demand, curb-to-curb transit system today.

Meet the Harbor Transit Team

Harbor Transit is made up of a dedicated team of drivers, dispatchers, and administrators. These are the people who keep our transportation service running smoothly, and make sure you get exactly where you need to go.

Dana Appel

Finance and Compliance Director

Annelise Walker

Marketing Coordinator

Scott Borg

Transportation Director

Samantha Deford

Accounting Coordinator

Melvin Barkley

Operations Director 

John Phillips

Safety and Training Coordinator

Board of Directors

The Harbor Transit Multi-Modal Transit System is governed by a Board of Directors. Our Board is made up of 11 members, all of whom are from the municipalities we serve and are transit stakeholders like passengers and social service agencies.

Craig Bessinger

City of Ferrysburg

Gordon Gallagher

Spring Lake Township

Bob Monetza

City of Grand Haven

Christine Burns

Village of Spring Lake

Pete LaMourie

Member at Large

Cathy Pavick

Spring Lake Township

Bill Cargo

Grand Haven Charter

Joel TePastte

Village of Spring Lake

Donald Reis

Grand Haven Township

Michael DeWitt

City of Ferrysburg

Patrick McGinnis

City of Grand Haven

Advisory Committee

The advisory committee is made up of individuals from our service area, each representing a community within our service area. Our advisory committee helps ensure the needs of all our riders, from Spring Lake, Spring Lake Township, Grand Haven, Grand Haven Township, and Ferrysburg, are met.

Warren Roosen

City of Ferrysburg

Chrysteen Moelter-Gray

Grand Haven Township

Carrie Uthe

Spring Lake Township

Ray Harz

Member at Large

Jon Toppen

Member at Large

Norman Cunningham

Member at Large